Past concerts

Grieg, Sibelius and Rachmaninov – 17 March 2018

Edvard Grieg – Peer Gynt Suite No. 1
Jean Sibelius – Tapiola
Sergei Rachmaninov – Symphony No. 2

17 March 2018, 7.30pm
Hammersmith Town Hall, London

Tickets £12 (full price) / £8 (school-aged children and unwaged)

Tickets available on the door from 7pm. Online booking is now closed.

Become a Friend of FSO for £5 a month and get free entry to future concerts.

About this concert

Grieg’s Peer Gynt Suite No.1 is one of his most popular works, and of its four movements Morning and In The Hall Of The Mountain King are among the most recognizable of all short orchestral compositions.

Tapiola, Sibelius’ last orchestral work, is an eerily evocative tone-poem inspired by the legends and atmosphere of the Finnish forests. The head of the score sets the scene: “In Pohjola there are thick, dark forests that dream wild dreams, forever secret. Tapiola’s eerie dwellings are there and half-glimpsed spirits, and the voices of twilight.”

Rachmaninov’s Symphony No. 2 is the epitome of the Romantic symphony, with big, bold melodies, sumptuous harmonies, and brimming with emotional power. It was written when Rachmaninov was at the pinnacle of his career and is considered to be amongst his greatest achievements.